VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYAPEETH SHAKTI UTHANA ASHRAM LAKHISARAI

Date -30.7.2020

Class 7th Subject History

Ch. Delhi Sultanate (REVISION FOR the P. A.1.)

Read the following question and answer throughly and try to understand and Write down in your H.W.Copy.

Q.1. Name the five dynasties that together made the Delhi Sultanate.

Answer:

Early Turkish rulers (1206—1290)

Khalji dynasty (1290—1320)

Tughluq dynasty (1320—1414)

Sayyid dynasty (1414—1451)

Lodi dynasty (1451—1526).

Q.2.Mention the sources that provide a lot of information about the Delhi Sultans.[V. Imp.] Answer: Inscriptions, coins, architecture and history written in Persian by learned authors are some of the most important sources that provide a lot of information about the Delhi Sultans.

Q.3. Why did the authors of tawarikh write their histories for Sultans?

Answer: They did so in the hope of rich rewards.

4. W/u/ was Raziyya removed from the throne?

[V. Imp.]

Answer: Being a woman ruler she was not favoured by anyone. She ruled just for four years and was finally dethroned in 1240.

5. What is a mosque called in Arabic?

Answer: It is called a masjid.

6. What is the literal meaning of mosque?

Answer: It refers to a place where a Muslim prostrates in reverence to Allah.

7. What is called the qibla?

Answer: The direction towards which Muslims turn while offering prayer or namaz.

8. Why did the early Delhi Sultans favour their slaves?

Answer: The slaves were totally dependent on their master. Therefore the Sultan could trust and rely upon them.

9. What was the duty of the muqtis?

Answer: The duly of the muqtis was to lead military campaigns and maintain law and order in their iqtas.

10. Why were accountants appointed by the state?

Answer: They were appointed to check the amount of revenue collected by the muqtis.

11. Why did the authors of Persian tawarikh criticise the Delhi Sultans? [Imp.]

Answer: They did not like the Sultanate's policy of appointing the 'low and base-born' to high offices.

12. Name the three types of taxes collected during the Sultanate period.

Answer: 1. Tax on cultivation called Kharcy and amounting to about 50% of the peasant's yield.

Tax on cattle

Tax on houses.

14. For how many years the Suri dynasty rule?

Answer: The Suri dynasty ruled for only 15 years.

SUBJECT TEACHER MUKESH KUMAR